UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER NO: 91-78

APPOINTMENT OF MEDIATION COMMITTEE

Effective this date, the following individuals are appointed to the membership of the Mediation Committee of the United States District Court, Southern District of Florida:

Barry Davidson, Esquire, Chairperson
Judge Thomas E. Sholts
Chief Magistrate Judge Charlene H. Sorrentino
Kevin Malone, Esquire
Deborah C. Poore, Esquire
Judith Ripps, Esquire
Larry Stewart, Esquire

The Mediation Committee shall by Wednesday, March 11, 1992, deliver a report and recommended action plan to the Court for implementation of a mediation program in the Southern District. The Mediation Committee shall consider the following issues:

- (a) The proposed local rule for court annexed mediation;
- (b) Goals of a mediation program;
- (c) Projected budget for cost of a mediation program;
- (d) Cost, if any, to the user of a mediation program;
- (e) Criteria for identifying cases appropriate for referral to mediation;
- (f) Juncture in the respective case when referral to mediation is appropriate;
- (g) Rules governing the mediation;
- (h) Whether the program should be voluntary or mandatory;
- (i) Whether the program should carry incentives for participation;
- (j) Who should administer the program;
- (k) Where the sessions should be held;
- (1) Who should serve as mediators;

- (m) Who should determine the eligibility of mediators;
- (n) Who should select the mediators;
- (o) Education of the bar and the public about the program;
- (p) Training of mediators;
- (q) Who should collect data for assessment of the program's efficiency;
- (r) Whether mediation should be used in prisoner civil rights cases; and
- (s) Recommendations for any other types of alternative dispute resolution programs or procedures for the Court's consideration.

DONE AND ORDERED in Chambers at the United States Courthouse, Fort Lauderdale, Florida this 26 day of November, 1991.

NORMAN C. ROETTGER

CHIEF UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

cc: All Southern District Judges and Magistrate Judges Keenan G. Casady, District Executive T. G. Cheleotis, Clerk of Court

All Committee Members